I Dreamed of Heathland… for chamber ensemble

I Dreamed of Heathland…

Largo, In D.

Date of composing November 2016 (edited in 2022)

Genre piece for chamber ensemble of 7 players (flute, oboe, 2 percussion sets, electric guitar, piano, contrabass)

Style contemporary classical, Celtic, polyphonic

Duration [3’53”]

Level of difficulty advanced

Copyright © 2016 Natalia Pispini

Idea and musical structure

A programmatic piece for mixed chamber ensemble was inspired by obscure atmosphere and gloomy characters of Thomas Hardy’s novels. In the beginning, the music is developing in an epical manner and slow motion to recreate a foggy mood, but soon it moves towards dramatic changes and takes a messy character which resolves into a calming epilogue. The general style is improvisational and fluidic (the melodies and motifs have no exact repeats), polyphonic (voices are contrasting each other), featuring ‘Celtic’ music elements, and slightly dissonant (polytonality is mainly imposed by oboe’s part). To balance the changeable texture, I added a refrain repeated twice (the whole structure is A-B-C-B1-D) and has more rhythmic and harmonic ‘certainty’.

Performance notes

The ensemble is meant for performance by experienced musicians, and though there is no specific extended technique, it is of an advanced level of difficulty.

I distribute this my work under Creative Common License with attribution to my authorship.

You can download the score and parts of I Dreamed of Heathland… from here.

Or, you can listen to, watch and download I Dreamed of Heathland… from the links below.

I Dreamed of Heathland… on MuseScore website.

I Dreamed of Heathland… on YouTube:


Discover more from Composer Natalia Pispini

Subscribe to get the latest posts to your email.

Leave a comment